Elise and Walter A. Haas International Award Recipients

2022 Recipients — Yun-Hsien Diana Lin LL.M. ’02, J.S.D. ’04 and Moses R. Kamya M.P.H. ’95

Yun-Hsien Diana Lin LL.M. ’02, J.S.D. ’04

Dr. Yun-Hsien Diana Lin is an associate professor of law at National Tsing Hua University (NTHU), Taiwan, and is dedicated to the pursuit of social justice. Her draft of a bill was passed by the Legislative Yuan in 2019, making Taiwan the first Asian country to legalize same-sex marriage.

Professor Lin is a committee member of the Executive Yuan for the Prevention of Human Trafficking and the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, in addition to consulting positions appointed by the Taiwan Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Interiors, and Ministry of Health and Welfare. She speaks frequently at international conferences and has taught courses for Taiwan Judges Academy, Taipei Bar Association, and various government departments.

Professor Lin directed NTHU’s Graduate Entry LLB Program in 2017-20. Her specialized areas of research are family law, reproductive justice, and gender equality, while her articles can be found in both Taiwanese and international major law journals, including University of Pennsylvania East Asia Law Review, Asian-Pacific Law & Policy Journal, and Asian Bioethics Review.

Professor Lin received an LL.B. from National Taiwan University and an LL.M. and J.S.D. from UC Berkeley. She is a founding board member of Taiwan Family Law Society.

Moses R. Kamya M.P.H. ’95

Dr. Kamya is a Ugandan physician, academic, and researcher who serves as a professor of medicine. He is past chair of the Department of Medicine and past dean of the Makerere University School of Medicine in Kampala, Uganda. He is a founding member of the Makerere University Joint AIDS Program (MJAP), the Infectious Diseases Institute (IDI), and the Infectious Diseases Research Collaboration (IDRC) in Uganda. For more than 20 years, Dr. Kamya has been researching and teaching infectious diseases, with a particular interest in malaria, HIV, and the interaction between malaria and HIV. He is a central figure in training at multiple levels at Makerere University and significantly contributes to shaping the malaria and HIV treatment policies in Uganda. He is the chair of the Uganda Ministry of Health (MoH) National AIDS Advisory and Malaria Scientific Advisory Committees. Dr. Kamya has a passion for capacity building of young African scientists. He is a recipient of several awards, including one of the 75 most influential public health alumni during the 75-year history of UC Berkeley’s School of Public Health.


Previous Recipients

Ahmed Al-Rawahi M.S. ’92, Ph.D. ’95, Chancellor, University of Nizwa, Oman — 2021
Neung-hoo Park Ph.D. ’98, Minister of Health and Welfare, Republic of Korea — 2020
Mario Schjetnan M.L.A ’70, Founder, Urban Design Group, Mexico — 2018
Adnan Shihab-Eldin ’65, M.S. ’67, Ph.D. ’70, Director General of the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences — 2017
Todung Mulya Lubis LL.M. ’78, J.S.D. ’90, Founder and Senior Partner, Lubis, Santosa & Maramis, Indonesia — 2016
Sir Colin Blakemore Ph.D. ’68, Professor of Neuroscience and Philosophy, Director of the Centre for the Study of the Senses at the School of Advanced Study, University of London, England — 2015
Patrick Awuah, Founder and President of Ashesi University, Ghana — 2014
Andrés Roemer, Writer — 2013
Xiulan Zhang, Social Policy Expert, Founder of Beijing Normal University’s Institute of Social Development and Public Policy, China — 2012
Yuan Tseh “Y.T.” Lee, Nobel Laureate, academician, educational reformer, statesman, Taiwan — 2011
Josephine Namboze, champion of public health research, practice, and education in Africa — 2010
Reynato S. Puno, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines — 2009
Mario Bergara, President of the Central Bank of Uruguay — 2008
Marcos Espinal, Executive Secretary of the Stop TB Partnership — 2007
Dr. Mu Sochua, Secretary General, Sam Rainsy Party, Cambodia — 2006
Dr. Juree Vichit-Vadakan, National Institute of Development Administration (NIDA), Thailand — 2005
David Harrison, CEO loveLife, South Africa — 2004
Norman Myers, Environmental Scientist, United Kingdom — 2003
Dr. Dorodjatun Kuntjoro-Jakti, Economic Minister of Indonesia — 2002
Miguel Angel Rodríguez Echeverría, President of Costa Rica — 2001
Zivorad I. Kovacevic, Ambassador of Yugoslavia to the United States — 2000
Dr. Urvashi Malhotra Sahni, Educator and Education Reform Advocate, India — 1999
Dr. Ahmed Ahmed Goueli, Minister of Trade and Supply Arab Republic of Egypt — 1998
Laura Castillo de Gurfinkel, Minister of Education, Venezuela — 1997
Venkataram Ramakrishna, Director, South East Asia Regional Bureau for the International Union for Health Promotion and Education (iuhpe) — 1996
James C. Y. Soong, Governor, Taiwan Provincial Government, Republic of China — 1995
Han Sung-Joo, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea — 1994
Hans-Peter Duerr, Chairman of the Directorate of the Max Planck Institute for Physics, Munich, Germany — 1993
Mohamed Alshaikh, Minister of Urban and Rural Affairs, Saudi Arabia — 1992
Julius G. Kiano, Chairman, Kenya Broadcasting Corporation and former assemblyman, Kenya National Assembly, 1963—79 — 1989
Hans Hollein, Internationally acclaimed architect, Vienna, Austria — 1988
Joon Lew, Director, World Vision Leprosy Research and Treatment Center, Seoul, Korea — 1986
Allan Gotlieb, Ambassador of Canada to the United States — 1985
Widjojo Nitisastro, Former Minister of State for Economic, Financial, and Industrial Affairs of Indonesia — 1984
Yoash Vaadia, Vice President, Finance and Administration, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel — 1983
Choong Kun Cho, Executive Vice President, Korean Air Lines — 1982
Kuang Tou Chang, Vice President, Tsinghua University, Beijing — 1981
Kenneth D. Taylor, Ambassador of Canada to Iran — 1980
Joao Baptista Pinheiro, Ambassador of Brazil to the United States — 1979
Sadako Ogata, Minister of Japan to the United Nations — 1978
Menahem Rebhun, Head, Division of Environmental Engineering Laboratories and Research Centers, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology — 1977
Haraldur Kroyer, Ambassador of Iceland to the United States — 1976
Haakon Wexelsen, President and Professor, University of Agriculture, Aas, Norway — 1975
Choh-Ming Li, Vice Chancellor and founding Chief Executive of the Chinese University of Hong Kong — 1974
Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan — 1973
Garegin Saroukhanian, Adviser to the Ministry of Health for Health Planning and Training, Iran — 1972
John J. Akar, Ambassador of Sierra Leone to the United States — 1971
Sun Fo, President of Examination Yuan, and one of the framers of the Constitution of the Republic of China — 1970
Mario E. G. Bancora, Director of the Atomic Energy Commission, Argentina — 1969
George K. Togasaki, Japanese businessman, civic leader, and President of Rotary International — 1968
Galo Plaza, Former President of Ecuador and United Nations diplomat — 1967
Abdul Majid, Ambassador of Afghanistan to the United States — 1966